Visit us on
Facebook today!










Vernon Proctor selected as 2016 Irving Heritage Society Sweetheart

The Irving Heritage Society’s annual Valentine Tea was held Sunday, February 14, at the Heritage House.  The arrangements were made by co-chairs Jearlene Miller and Vicki Tate.  Carol Susat provided the beautiful flowers throughout the house.  Detailed hand carved hearts made by Jeff Gaston were also displayed. Diane Mannon directed the bustling activity in the kitchen.  Past Presidents and other special members poured the  tea or punch.    Many recipes from the original housewarming party of 1914 had been used for the delicious food which covered the tea table.  Dr. Clay Gilbert provided music from the old piano in the music room.

Guests mingled throughout the house, enjoying their refreshments as they viewed the beautiful antiques.  Others explored for the first time the newly opened Mary’s Playhouse in the back garden area.  Chair of that restoration project Patty Landers Caperton and Shirley Smith were on hand to provide details of the playhouse to the visitors.  Four generations of members of the Sue Haley Huffman family were among the many tea guests.

Soon it was time for the announcement of the annual Sweetheart.  President Kaye Ward gathered the guests near the living room to make the announcement that Heritage Society life time member Vernon Proctor had been selected as this year’s Sweetheart.  Over the years, Vernon has been a constant help and support to the organization.  He is currently serving a three year term as director on the board.  During the last several years, he and his company Mart Inc. have been instrumental in providing services without compensation as Mary’s Playhouse was completely taken down and then carefully rebuilt using much of the same lumber.   It was truly a labor of love for history on the part of Vernon.  A large round of applause from the guests confirmed their approval of the choice of Vernon Proctor as the 2016 Irving Heritage Society Sweetheart.

For more information on the Irving Heritage Society and their activities, call 972-252-3838.

Vernon and Linda Proctor and family

Irving Heritage Society Tea - Past President Eleanor Bell service

Committee chairs: 
President Kaye Ward, Diane Mannon, Jearlene Miller,
Vicki Tate, Carol Susat, Dr. Clay Gilbert

To see more photos from the event, CLICK HERE!
To watch the video from the event, CLICK HERE!