Stepping across the threshold at 303 South O’Connor, is to step back in time. The Heritage House, as it is now called, was built in 1912 for the family of C.P. and Virginia Schulze. It will be open for public tours on Sunday, August 4 from 3pm-5pm. Mary’s Playhouse in the back garden area will also be open for tours. Admission is free and children are welcome.
The Schulze family was the only family to ever live in the home. In 1975, the Schulze children gave their family home as a historic landmark to the City of Irving. It is operated by the Irving Heritage Society. In 1986 it was designated as a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark.
With wallpaper similar to the original pattern used when the house was built in 1912, the “pink” bedroom contains furniture, bed, dresser and washstand originally the property of the Paschal P. Tuckers of Dallas, Mrs. Virginia Schulze’s parents. It is Victorian walnut with burl walnut inlay. The bedspread was crocheted by Mrs. Tucker to fit the bed.
To see more photos of the Heritage House, check out our virtual tour. Or visit the Archives tab. Group tours may also be scheduled for alternate times. For more information, contact 972-252-3838.
Irving Heritage Society. All rights reserved.